LEJOG45: Jedburgh to Melrose

Sorry for the massive delay in the posts-I got a bit sidetracked and tired from the ongoing effort of the walk. To catch up I’ll have to do more concise accounts (promise!) of the last week or so.

Leaving Jedbrugh I joined the old roman road again. By now it had become a lovely walled track occasionally lined by trees inbetween fields. It was nice but felt like it was longer than shown on the map, probably because I expected it to be shorter due to it’s straightness.

At one point I passed a saw mill where over the buzzing sound of wood being chopped I could hear a pair of bagpipes being played in the background. This wasnt idyllic, this was creepy in a kind of Celtic-‘Deliverence’ type way. I kept expected some hill-billy like scots to jump out from behind a tree and drag me back to there mill where they’d play a tune ok me. As I turned off the roman road I saw the person and instrument responsible for the sound standing in a yard outside one of the mill buildings. I waved nervously and scampered off on the other direction.

A minute later i saw a deer running and jumping through a big field of long grass. It looked unreal, partly because the field was so immaculate and not the place you’d expect to
see a massive wild animal, but also partly because of the way the deer was taking a long jump after every couple of strides. I didn’t realise was how deer ran and it look pretty spectatcular and slightly excessive, like it was maybe doing it for effect.

I attempted to take a short-cut from the route where it followed the bend in the River Tweed, but mainly succeeded in getting a little lost and walking the opposite direction to that which I needed to go in. After a bit of bother, frustration and self-chastisement I worked out where I was and where i needed to be.

I made it to the Eildon hills, two big brown-y green buggers sitting between me and melrose. They looked really cool and in any other situation I be clammering to get to the top, but today I just wanted to get to my next port. The sun was shining and I was imagining relaxing in it with a beer in my hand. It was quick, steep and sweaty but I made it over via the saddle between the two and descended into Melrose, which I found to be a lovely little town. There was even a little wine bar with seats onto the town square where I sat, read my book and enjoyed a bottle of cold local beer. Marvellous, and not something I’d done enough of on this trip so far. Now can you see why my blog has got so behind recently?

Sent from my iPhone

0 Responses to “LEJOG45: Jedburgh to Melrose”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

JOIN ME!!!

What Am I Doing Right Now?

CURRENTLY I AM LISTENING TO…

Not much!

CURRENTLY I AM READING…

Flickr Photos


