LEJOG08: Bude to Hartland Quay

Another tough day lay ahead-it was billed as 8.5 hours of severe, and I had to carry my bag cos the taxi cost would have been £35!

The landscape was slightly changing. The cliffs were the same green fields on top but underneath the rocks were getting more jagged again. It looked like lots of different layers of strata had been turned on their side at some point and had been worn away into a series of parallel lines of rock running out to sea. The most impressive examples looked like the spikes running down a dinosaurs back, huge near the land but getting smaller and smaller as they went out to sea.

There were also a lot of sheep about being very protective of their new lambs. As I slowly walked towards them they would all state at me intently for ages until one adult decided I was getting too near and would let out a bleat and everyone would suddenly run away. This made me feel powerful, which was a well needed little ego boost (get it where you can!)

I met quite a few people walking the opposite direction today, lots of ‘mature’ couples, even a ‘mature’ group led by a man who had the gentle air of a village vicar. I even bumped into a couple of solo walkers like myself. This felt a bit odd cos they were so much older than me and slightly weird around the edges. It was like a call from the furre and I’m not sure if that’s how I’d like to end up.

The were a series of cliff ‘bastards’ today, including some really ridiculous ones, but luckily they had calmed down by 3pm. This was good cos they were caning my feet and blisters. I now have a selection of different plasters and pads stuck to my feet in an effort to ease the pain. The obvious solution, stop walking so much, just isn’t an option.

The most significant bastard was the one next to the divide between Cornwall and Devon. Yes that’s right I am now in my second county of the trip! I will have fond memories of Cornwall’s beautiful beaches and tough cliffs. As the first county on the trip it will have a special place in my heart.

After battling though I made it to hartland quay and a little pub with a bear garden looking out to sea. I got a pint and sat there looking at the sun set over the sea and rocks and listening to the sound of the waves crashing down and children playing. I felt completely relaxed, and realized that it was all worth it just for this ok moment.

And then I had to go and wash my pants and get ready for the next day!

This post seems a little random and fragmented so apologies for that, maybe it helps to have the 24 hour delay to allow time for the story to settle in my mind, maybe I’m running out of things to say! I’ll try better tomorrow, I hope you’re still with me.

10 Responses to “LEJOG08: Bude to Hartland Quay”


  1. 1 jenna April 20, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    worried about your feet. do you need new ones? i could kill someone for you and we could perform a transplant. i would do that for you you know?

  2. 2 Jenna April 21, 2009 at 6:55 am

    I’ve just spotted this and it made me laugh out loud. I want to know more about the bear garden. I’m surprised, for example, that there were children playing and that you had your first ok moment. One would have thought that the whole experience would have been slightly more uncomfortable. or were they nice bears? Having a picnic perhaps? Or at least casually relaxing over a pint of Hofmesiter?

    Do tell…. quite an adventure!

  3. 6 karen and dave April 21, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    hi brendan
    remember us? You mum contacted us and we are really looking forward to meeting you again here in abergavenny. We are enjoying reading your blog and think this is brilliant thing to do. We are really into walking ourselves but will be unable to join you as you will be arriving in the middle of a working week for us-bum One tip for making your rucksack lighter is to dump the transformers…….
    karen and dave xxx

    • 7 brendanbolger April 21, 2009 at 9:09 pm

      I do remember! Thanks for the offer, it’s immensely appreciated, where is the nearest stop to you?

      • 8 karen and dave April 22, 2009 at 5:56 pm

        Pandy, on Offa’s Dyke, after Monmouth. We will come and pick you up from there and drop you back the next morning. We will be able to wash some stuff for you too. We could also come and collect your stuff from Monmouth the night before if you like so that you can have a backpack free day You can also browse through our collection of maps..and we may be able to fix tou up with some where to stay in nothumberland-will have to sort that out later
        karen x

      • 9 brendanbolger April 26, 2009 at 5:03 pm

        TyT sounds brilliant, I’ll email u directly at the weekend to try and arrange a pick up. Cheers! Bx (PS I look slightly different now-I have a beard for one thing. Still like transformers tho!)


Leave a Reply

JOIN ME!!!

What Am I Doing Right Now?

CURRENTLY I AM LISTENING TO…

Not much!

CURRENTLY I AM READING…

Flickr Photos


