LEJOG07: Boscastle to Bude

Today was an exhausting but rewarding day. I left Boscastle at 8:30 after picking up some supplies, debating between getting ‘energy’ or ‘trail’ fruit and nut mix at the green grocers and eventually plumping for energy because I though I needed more energy and already had enough trail to last me a while-11 more weeks worth to be precise.

As soon as I headed up the first hill I could feel that my legs were tired and didn’t have the same power in them as earlier in the week. I could also feel the blisters on my heels biting, and the pain in my big toes growing. The itinerary was definitely becoming more oppressive, and I promised myself that I would rejig my schedule to avoid such overworking of my body. The walk is meant to be a challenge but also something that I was meant to enjoy, not see as a millstone around my neck. Luckily there was a rest planned for the next day, which gave me something o aim for.

The day consisted of a series of steep down and ups similar to the previous day. Apparently there is no word to describe the landscape where a valley meets the sea in this way. I have decided to call them ‘bastards’ based ok my recent experience. For example, in the morning i climbed the highest cliff on the south weat coast path, imaginatiely named ‘high cliff’. It hurt. However, these ‘bastards’ were beatituful and a bit otherworldly in a tolkein-esque way, like nature on steroids with the contrast turned right up. It as worthwhile, despite the growing pain and tiredness.

I’m the afternoon I was joined in Crackington Haven by my mum and Dave: Sue’s husband, old family friend and keen long distance walker. This helped keep me focused on how amazing the scenary was and not too focused on how tired I was getting. Our aim was Bude and throughout the day we could see it getting closer on the horizon, although it got obscured every now and then when we had to go down into the next valley. One valley was so steep that at one point the steps appeared to disappear off the edge. I have a problem with sheer heights and almost had kittens at the sight of it, so much so that dave had to take the photo below, it just made my head spin so.

When we got to widemouth bay jut outside of Bude we were tired, sweaty but also elated and we popped into the cottage owned by Nick, one of my bosses. We had a cup of tea and a chat, and it was lovely to see both him looking appropriately more chilled than when in the office and his family, including in-laws and kids Sam and Jessie who are blessed with more than their fair share of the smiling gene.

Then it was back to Dave and Sue’s for a lovely dinner, all the way on the south side of Cornwall. I also got to catch up with their daughters Sarah and Nicky whom I used to go on family holidays with when I was even littler than I am now, if you can believe that’s possible. It was on these holidays that I was first introduced/forced into the world of walking, so there was a nice sense of going full circle. We had a really lovely time and I’d like to take this opportunity to thank them all, especially D&S, for their hospitality and support far beyond the call of duty. If it wasn’t for this I’m sure I’d have had to stop early and thrown my plans (and thus morale) into complete disarray.

Sunday was my rest day so I won’t bother offering a separate post. Suffice to say the weather was lovely and I had a fantastic time in their gorgeous garden sorting out logistical stuff and eating lovely food while getting walkomg advice from dave. It was a real wrench to leave this idylic setting and head out to ths other side of cornwall for a night in a one-man tent. I found myself getting a case of the Sunday blues, which is silly and patently ridiculous because I haven’t got work tomorrow, but was a real emotion none-the-less and a little trap of a personality trait that I hope to iron out soon before of threatens to spoil my trip.

Anyways, onwards and upwards. I had my dinner in a Pub near my campsite‎ ironically caled the Brendon Arms. As Sue so rightly said, it’s a pity it isn’t called the Brendon Legs.

Time to go as they’re about to call time here. I hope you’ve all have had a good weekend, I definitely have.

2 Responses to “LEJOG07: Boscastle to Bude”


  1. 1 Nix April 20, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Oh, “nicky” is it?!

    you also failed to post a selection of your best Haikus…I look forward to reading them.

    hope you haven’t been killed by any cornish piskies, i hear they’re vicious folk.

    • 2 brendanbolger April 20, 2009 at 8:25 pm

      So it’s Nix with an x? That’s one cool way to spell your name. Does the x have some deeper meaning or sgnificance? Like ‘eXtreme’?

      I’ll try my best to secretly slip the haiku format into my blog posts. Let’s see if anybody else notices…


Leave a Reply

JOIN ME!!!

What Am I Doing Right Now?

CURRENTLY I AM LISTENING TO…

Not much!

CURRENTLY I AM READING…

Flickr Photos

P1000629

P1000628

P1000627

P1000626

P1000625

P1000624

P1000623

P1000622

P1000621

P1000620

More Photos

