I can see the bed sheet but where’s the matress? matress

Tonight I’m experimenting with sleeping in my new tent to see just how warm and comfortable my set up is. My fancy new iPhone weather app tells me it will go down to 4C which I hope is as cold as it will get on my travels and so this should provide a good test (is that stupidly naive?).

It’s a bit like being a kid again, pitching a tent in the back garden and having a bit of an adventure. The smell of cool fresh grass in the tent is the first sensory cue as to what the next few months have in store.

However, I got a bit of scare in the form of the self-inflating mattress that was waiting for me courtesy of my aunt Laura. For one thing the box it was in was tiny-see the first picture below with this evening’s dinner as a size comparison.

Then I took it out and realized that it wasn’t actually a mattress, but an over-sized communion wafer. See the second picture-it’s only three pizzas long! It’s thinner than my dinner!

Let’s hope it’s self-inflating properties allay my growing anxieties later tonight!

3 Responses to “I can see the bed sheet but where’s the matress? matress”


  1. 1 Laura March 29, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    I’m glad to see the travel thermorest arrived.It was specially purchased for backpacking- as light as possible and to pack as small as possible. Alistair thought that instructions for use which I supplied as an afterthought were unnecessary (*its intuitive mum!*)- but I wasn’t so sure for the uninitiated .
    We used to have a tiny pillow thing- I’ll look for it if you like.

    • 2 brendanbolger March 30, 2009 at 7:26 am

      I think you were right – I wouldn’t have given it the first couple of puffs to start it off self-inflating unless you had told me. I already have an inflatable pillow although it is quite large so i might come back to you on that one!

  2. 3 Laura March 31, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    PS- that is one large pizza! I think serious hikers eat nuts and things- or a handful of dried oats(which you carry in your sporran and can eat whilst on the march)


Leave a Reply

JOIN ME!!!

What Am I Doing Right Now?

CURRENTLY I AM LISTENING TO…

Not much!

CURRENTLY I AM READING…

Flickr Photos


